Problem with high voltages

Problem with high voltages, a forum discussion on Cleverscope Mixed Signal USB Oscilloscopes. Join us for more discussions on Problem with high voltages on our Other Issues forum.

Back to Forum Index : Back to Other Issues   RSS
JCH2k

21 Dec 2007
Posts:

Hi!
I am a little confused: the CS328A can measure 80Vpp voltage. But with a x10 Probe it cuts the signal at 240V Peak when i connect the probe to 230V phase line. The real peak should be at 325V.
If i zoom in to the real peak at about 325V it is shown correct, but i can't see the whole 230V RMS signal...
What is wrong?

Thanks for your time,
Claudius
rhcarter

21 Dec 2007
Posts: 73

Hello Claudius,
I am not sure where you found the 80V as the maximum input voltage is specified as 20V. Therefore to measure 230V accurately you need to use a 1:100 probe.

Regards,
Roger
JCH2k

3 Jan 2008
Posts:

hm... on the CS328A Page it sais:
""Gain automatically set from 20mV full scale to 800V full scale by choosing graph view and probe switch setting.""

So i reasoned it had 80Vpp and can measure 800Vpp with 10:1 probes.
How is the information on that pabge meant?!
bartschroder

4 Jan 2008
Posts: 413

Hello Claudius,
sorry, we need to change the manual. The classic CS328 has a range of +/-40V (80V p-p) and is ok for looking at 230V rms. With the CS328A, we traded off maximum range for lower noise on the x10 ranges. The spec is now +/-20V. This means that you will need to use a x100 probe. You may wish to send us an email about this.
carlyse_09

1 Nov 2008
Posts:

Im sure the changes was made to make it more useful and convenient.I think this could help more to the users.But then you will also adjust for the changes made.
cassandra_31

24 Feb 2009
Posts:

I also had the same problem and i'm afraid especially when it comes to high voltages.I'm glad to read your conversations here so that i can have the idea what to do.Please help me!
bartschroder

27 Feb 2009
Posts: 413

Hello cassandra, if you want to look at higher voltages there are two ways to go:
1. Use a differential probe. This is the safest way, as it does not matter which way you connect the probes. We sell two differential probes - the CS1030 good for 1300V, and the CS1031 good for 6500V.
2. Use a 100x or 1K probe. The 100x probe is rated at 1500 V (Cat III), and the 1000x probe at 15 kV (Cat III). However both of these probes have a ground connection which is continuous to the mains earth, and to the USB ground and hence the PC. If you inadvertantly connect the ground clip to a live connection you will need a ground fault interrupter (GFI) or Residual Current Device (RCD) to turn off the mains supply to protect both yourself, and the equipment.

In fact we highly recommend having a GFI or RCD in your mains supply any time you are working with high voltages.
Back to Forum Index : Back to Other Issues   RSS
You must be logged in to post a reply



You need to Register or Log In before posting on these forums.

×

Your shopping cart is empty.